current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Putting the MUN in Mondays

March 10, 2003 ~ 3:05 p.m.

The history of the English language tells me that Monday is derived from the Germanic system of naming days, with the first day of the working week translated as �Moon Day.�

But we don�t pronounce it that way. It�s more like �Mun-day.� We need a more esoteric legend for the word.

Could it be �mun� as in mundane, which is what this day of the week usually turns out to be. Or �mun� as in money�the sole reason why we ever get out of bed on this day in the first place.

Or maybe you could argue that the �mun� in Monday stands for monopoly as this day seems to set the pace for the entire week.

Perhaps it stands for Monrovia which is where I�d like to send all Mondays. But that wouldn�t be fair.

Whatever it is, I can guarantee you�ll never hear, �Time for fun, honey-bun, it�s Mun-day!�

Actually, know what I think? I think Monday is named after a sound not unlike the one I make upon waking up, the after-effects of a weekend still ruling my senses:

�Muuuuunnnnnh!�

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-