current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Just call me Mother Earth

August 31, 2003 ~ 6:01 p.m.

Today, while having lunch in the caf� up the street with my wife and Mum (my mom-in-law), I noticed a red maple sapling growing in the windowsill garden box of flowers.

I pointed it out to the ladies. �Look at that, will you.�

�Aw, bless,� said my wife. �Fancy that. It can never survive there.�

The little garden box would never allow it to grow, but more to the point, the caf�s owners would only uproot it and toss it out when they found it growing there. We conferred with Mum about the possibility of her taking back to her home in Lincolnshire and planting it in her garden, specifically above the spot where Blackie, our rabbit who was put to sleep earlier in the summer, was buried.

�After all, he�s providing plenty of nitrogen to the soil to nourish the tree,� I quipped. �Just imagine, in five years� time, you�ll have a tree big enough to us to sit in the shade and drink lemonade under.�

Mum agreed to take the sapling back with her and plant it in her backyard.

I took the sapling home and put it in a glass of water and instructed the wife to get some topsoil and fertilizer in order for Mum to take the baby maple home with her.

I feel really good about this. We saved a tree today.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-