current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Reflections of a lonely Sunday night

May 13, 2003 ~ 2:09 p.m.

The wife went away for part of the weekend to her mother's, leaving me home alone on Sunday. When it came time to go to bed, I couldn�t sleep. I felt strangely alone. I have never quite felt like that before. It was weird beyond words, but it proved the effect that four-and-a-half years of marriage have had on me.

This is why some reactions that some people have had to my �no children for me, thanks� approach to my own life are so utterly laughable.

If, say, for instance, you want to argue that my marriage is somehow lacking, that my wife and I aren�t �complete� without rugrats, then I tell you with deep, complete sincerity to go pound sand. The wife and I would rather have real rats.

People are prone to exclude arrangements as they see fit and take it upon themselves to define what�s what. The wife and I bear the brunt of this �be fruitful and multiply� crap by getting reactions of varying degrees when we inform others that we have no children and, don�t hold your breath, we don�t plan on ever having them. By their definition, our marriage is a cause for wonder.

It is anything but. I got married to be with a woman who has proven that she cares, understands, accepts and loves me well above and beyond what any other soul is capable of doing, save for my own mother. I�m not a sentimental, dopey sort of guy, but believe me when I say:

We don�t need kids to �fill our house with more love� (excuse me while I puke, please). We�ve got enough love ... hack, hack ... amongst the two of us to last a lifetime. Sappy�but true.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-