current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Leave it to a liberal to show me the meaning of true friendship

October 17, 2004 ~ 2:20 a.m.

Sometimes�well, to be truthful, quite often�I am a little hard on Lefties. Yet, despite that, I have a crop of liberal readers who have stuck with me through time. Pam, better known as sixweasels is one of them.

She rarely posts in my guestbook, but, as she notes, she�d rather not have to talk back or argue. I simply make her think. And that�s what she appreciates most about me.

You see, I am not a talking head on CNN or Fox. I do not have a prominent column in the printed or on-line media. I am just an average guy who reports to work five days a week, and has a wife and three pets to take care of. I just so happen to be conservative.

I have often marvelled myself at how someone can reach their 30s and remain a liberal. OK, granted, I�m liberal in the areas of recycling trash, animal welfare, and drug law reform, but as soon as I left college and hit the workforce and paid taxes�well, as they say, I discovered the beauty of lower-taxes advocating conservatism.

Sixweasels is someone I would not, even in my wildest dreams, call anti-American. She loves her country and is optimistic for the future, despite any misgivings over domestic policy, the war or Bush.

When my brief friendship with Rumblelizard crashed and burned in flames, I vowed I would not trust another Leftie again as long as I lived. I really held a grudge. But I forgot about folks like Pam. I�m sure she has many times not only wanted to de-link me, but ring my neck in addition. But she did not cut me loose no matter how many entries I wrote that trampled her sensitivities. She has proven to be a genuine friend. She understands that I�ve got a P.O.V. and that I�m fearless with it. People like her, I�ve discovered, are not exactly a dime a dozen.

So, thank you, Pam. Thanks for being there, even if silently. I�m honored to have you as a loyal reader. I will try to think more of you whenever I think of liberals � * twitch, twitch*


But the Republicans are the insensitive ones �!

Well, moving on ...

As if suggesting that Mrs. Cheney might be ashamed of her daughter Mary for being gay, as the wife of vice presidential candidate John Edwards has done, wasn�t enough to highlight liberal insensitivity, this piece of news really spotlights it better than anything Kerry�s campaign has done:

Dave Dahl denounces Fitzhugh's attack of Republican voters
October 11, 2004

Dyersburg, TN�Today, Republican nominee for State House District 82, Dave
Dahl, denounced a flyer distributed by Democrat State Representative Craig
Fitzhugh that attacks Bush voters and mocks those who are mentally
challenged (flyer included). �Hard-ball politics is one thing and everyone
expects tough battles, but using those who are born with mental disabilities
for political fodder is disgusting,� said Dave Dahl on Monday from his
campaign office in Dyersburg.

The flyers have been distributed for at least 2 weeks from State
Representative Craig Fitzhugh�s campaign office on the town square in
downtown Ripley, which also serves as the Kerry-Edwards campaign
headquarters. Dahl said, �At first I really did not believe that Fitzhugh
and the Democrats would stoop to such gutter politics, but then people
started bringing the flyer to me at the end of last week. I was shocked and
disgusted.�

Dahl said, �In my first campaign against Mr. Fitzhugh two years ago, the
Democrats conducted a negative telephone poll on my then five-year-old
adopted daughter because she was born in Texas and not in Tennessee. I guess
I should not be surprised that Mr. Fitzhugh and his crowd would attack Bush
voters and call them �retarded.� This is how the Democrats do business.�
Dave Dahl continued, �The single minded plan for Mr. Fitzhugh and the
Democrats in Tennessee is to attack Republican voters, attack those
supporting Republican candidates and to ignore the real issues of the day:
jobs, prescriptions drugs costs, education, security at home and taxes.�

�This kind of reckless disregard for those who suffer from mental
disabilities is much larger than any state representative race. This act is
so atrocious and indecent that my campaign will be sending a copy of the
Fitzhugh flyer to the United States Special Olympics Committee, the Special
Olympics International Group and state and national advocacy groups who work
with and support special needs children and adults,� said Dahl.

Dahl concluded, �My heart goes out to the millions of families who have
children and loved ones with special needs. To have their family members
mocked in this manner is inexcusable and wrong from any perspective. These
kinds of issues cross all political and social boundaries. I call on Mr.
Fitzhugh to issue a public apology.�

Exploiting the mentally ill for partisan political purposes. Lovely! I guarantee you, if the Republicans pulled a cheap shot like this, we�d never hear the end of it. But, as is par for the course, nobody is making a stink about it�largely thanks to the media which, as is standard for them, completely ignoring the issue.

As of this writing, Craig Fitzhugh still has yet to issue an apology.


El Salvador asks America for help in their war on gangs

El Salvador has enlisted the help of Southern California police departments for techniques to handle their domestic gang problem. The Central American nation has also requested that the FBI help to investigate rumors that Al-Qaeda might be present and receiving assistance from the Salvadoran gangs to enter the U.S.

Gangs like Mara Salvatrucha formed from Salvadoran refugees in the U.S. who fled their country�s civil war in the 1980s. At first, much in the manner of La Cosa Nostra, it was to protect themselves against native street gangs, but they soon turned to making a business out of crime. Today, these gangs are multinational and present a real problem for the Salvadoran government.

This week, the Salvadoran national chief of police, Ricardo Menesses Orellana, met with Southern California law enforcement officials to formulate a strategy to deal with the gang problem in his country.

El Salvador has been a loyal ally to the U.S. and has contributed to the War in Iraq. They should get every bit of American help and assistance that they require in their fight against the gangs.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-