current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Mamas, don�t let your babies grow up to vote for cowboys

February 27, 2004 ~ 1:45 p.m.

My boss just gave me some advice. After finding out that I still have the right to vote in American elections, despite official U.K. resident status, he said:

�Well, don�t vote for John Kerry. And don�t vote for George Bush either.�

�OK,� I said. �That leaves Ralph Nader.� (No, I am not serious.)

Hmmm � on second thought, maybe Lyndon LaRouche. Why not? Can you imagine telling people here that I voted for a candidate who�s best known for embracing a theory involving a world conspiracy by �the British Oligarchy� and its �stooge,� the Queen? (This reminds me of a former colleague of mine at the university newspaper who told me he voted for LaRouche. When I nearly choked on the coffee I was drinking, he defensively stated, �I didn�t know about him, honestly, he was just a fringe vote that appealed to me!�)

Ah yes, the fringe vote. It�s becoming more of a factor in American politics�before John McCain, there was John Anderson and Harry Browne. People harp on about Dubya not getting the popular vote, with Nader taking votes away from Gore, but I remember in 1992 when Clinton won with 43 percent of the vote. Forty-three percent. And in 1996, that figure went up to an impressive � 49 percent. Impressive, I said.

Anyway, I saw something today that made me want to scream: A cap that had the Yankees symbol on the front, but in the back, just above the adjustable strap, it didn�t say �YANKEES� or �NEW YORK� or�surprise, surprise��ADIDAS,� but something so much more disquieting.

It said �AMERICA.�

You know, once again, nobody knows anything about baseball over here, so it�s quite fitting that people see the New York Yankees the way we see the Harlem Globetrotters: namely, that they always win and that it�s every other team�s job to lose to them. I mean, for Chrissakes, if they even paid attention to the fact that the Yankees haven�t been World Champions for three years (and hopefully counting ad infinitum ), they�d know this.

And I dare to wonder why they can�t get the trains to run on time here? Heh heh. Oh, Lordy, I kill myself. Maybe they�d like Hillary Clinton in charge of British Rail.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-