current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Cold morning coincidence

December 09, 2002 ~ 5:01 p.m.

My God, it was cold here in London-towne this morning.

I walked into work, fixed myself a cup of tea and settled down in my seat. Then my boss gave me an assignment:

�Could you go to the Hammersmith campus and collect examiner�s scripts from the Nutrition and Dietetics Department, please?�

Hey, I got to go right back out into the cold, wait 20 minutes in the outdoor splendor of South Kensington station for a Circle Line train, change at Notting Hill Gate for the Central Line and walk nearly half-a-mile from East Acton. Yea me.

I took a peek at the temperature before I left � 37�F. Oh lovely.

Let it not be said that the excursion didn�t add some humor to my day. For as I was walking down the street toward the hospital, I saw a man ahead wearing a jacket with �RED SOX� emblazoned across. Just like, wouldn�t you know it, my own jacket. Talk about coincidence.

His was made out of a cotton/polyester blend and had cream-colored sleeves. Mine is all black and made out of nylon. Yet those red Old English style letters were the same. I tried to stifle a laugh as I walked by him. He had a mobile phone to his ear, but he grinned and pointed at the front of his jacket as he passed by me. I winked and gave the thumbs-up sign at him. Running into a fellow Boston fan on the streets of London (usually overrun by sourpusses in Yankees caps) never fails to brighten my spirits.

I walked the rest of the way with a spring in my step that had previously been lacking.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-