current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The bad craziness of jet lag

August 21, 2003 ~ 2:12 p.m.

You know, it�s a wicked strange experience�and I mean that insomuch as any New England Yankee expression can be taken at face value�to go from 5 o�clock in the afternoon to 5 o�clock in the morning. That�s twelve hours, but the flight was only half that long. Flitting across time zones makes it seem that you�ve traveled a lot more than you actually have, and it plays havoc with your head.

I have woken up the past few mornings looking around in awe�and I truly mean awe � at the bedroom. Somehow I expect to find myself still in my room at the folks� house. Then I begin to wonder what time it is. 4 a.m.? Well, then, time to get up and fix a cup of coffee. Is something wrong with this picture?

Hell yeah. As someone who was anyone once said, �This is most unusual!�

�Are you all right?� This is all I�m hearing at work lately, and I suppose it�s not completely without merit when you consider that by noon, my head is on my keyboard and the e-mails I�ve been writing dissolve into madness:

Dear student: As you were generous enough to help us out with the examination on 16 July, you may be interested to note that there will be a re-sit on 17 Septemberrrrrrrr gjl;krjej;rkleg;lk;kergje;lrje

I tell them it�s just jet lag. But I�m wrong. It�s not just jet lag this time. It�s heavy-duty, super-duper, kick-your-ass-till-it�s-grass jet lag.

We have a long weekend coming up and it couldn�t possibly come at a better time. I will use it to get my head back in shape, and the body, I can only assume, will soon follow. Or should that be vice-versa?

Gjglkjr;lkgjrlkj;glkjrgl �

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-