current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Giving thanks on my anniversary

October 11, 2002 ~ 2:38 p.m.

OK, folks, I know the calendar says 10/11 (sorry for being a retard, Mr. Box-head), but as I won�t be around on the 14th, on account of soaking up the warm sunshine on the south coast of France � a destination to which I leave tonight � I am obliged to write this now.

It is my one-year anniversary here on Diaryland.

Just a few days short of a whole year and 122 entries ago, I started this diary. An intelligent young lady that I�d become close friends with had started a diary here and encouraged me to do so. I just laughed it off, thinking, who�d read it? Then, one mid-October evening, energized by a spell of unseasonably warm weather, I churned out my debut. After a couple of more entries, dealing with different styles of writing about sports and politics and my life in general, I found myself enjoying it immensely. Only a few days after starting my diary, I gained my first fan � a Minnesotan by the name of Chandonnet, who was very curious as to what life in England was like. My young lady friend � my spiritual sister � was another early fan.

My first major influence on Diaryland was the one-of-a-kind Froggie, a clear-headed, thoroughly entertaining and politically astute Canadian. It wasn�t long after discovering him that I discovered the great Mr. Levski, a rock-solid, all-American conservative whose �rants� I absorbed and found delectable.

From Mr. Levski, I heard from a voice of true reason and compassion, a lady with a heart of pure gold. I refer to none other than Eden. A moderate conservative, she has been an influence on me as well.

Other influences and friends followed in relatively short order � Rick, Ducky and Lifeblood.

As I continued to churn out entries, I found my groove and knew that I was hopelessly addicted. The best thing about having a diary � though I admit, I think of my page more as a journal or even an on-line column than a �diary� � was that it forced me to write again. And the ability to write was something I did not ever want to lose.

And lose it I nearly did.

I used to write guest columns and letters to the editor to local Boston papers constantly and throughout the �90s these writings � in addition to my weekly college column � gave me a pretty thick portfolio of professional published works. I even started work on a novel. But then, in 1998, I got married, hopped back and forth between England and the States for a few years and concentrated on defeating the homesickness and getting settled. Meanwhile, the writing had ceased. The half-written novel sat on the shelf collecting dust and my name was conspicuously absent from the newspapers.

After a trip to New York City in the autumn of 2000 to collect a visa for entry into Great Britain, I wrote a journal about my adventures there to e-mail friends and penpals with. Only after writing that account of the NYC trip did I find a passion for travel writing � I could describe the places I�d been to, inject some history, witty remarks and even some political observations into these journals while I was at it.

Once I�d written about New York, Barcelona, Boston and Paris, I rediscovered the joys of writing � in fact, my travel journals brought my writing back from the dead � and so it was that I began pondering membership on Diaryland. I do not regret having come here or sharing my thoughts or viewpoints with fans and other members of the public.

I thank everyone for their support and for reading. Other friends of mine, who I shall now give a big shout out to, are LA the Sage , Ms. M, Fairyfish, Claire, Bubbles, and Purplebowie. Thanks even to all random guestbook signers.

I�ve published the travel journals here on Diaryland; they can be found at Holidays. If anyone is interested in reading them, slip me a note and I�ll give you the passwords. That is, if I trust you =)

Diaryland, along with my travel writings, rekindled my passion for the written word. Writing is my art, my love and my life. Like music, I could not exist without it. It is a medium for expression and mood and the power to which words can be put to use. My diary has been many things over the past year. But one aspect about it that has remained consistent throughout is that at least I have written. I have been born again. The writer in me is back � and stronger than ever. I shall continue with this diary until God-only-knows when. I have made friends and stirred up controversy. Diaryland has been a breath of fresh air for me. And it was made all the more fun by the good folks whose friendship I�ve gained since being here.

Hell, I may even get to finish that novel, inspired as I am.

And so on this, my one-year anniversary on Diaryland, I have only this to say to my readers:

Thank you.

All the best,

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-