current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




American wine

March 04, 2003 ~ 9:48 p.m.

In the local convenience store, I found a bottle of red wine tonight with the name Echo Falls. With a name like that, it could only be an Australian or an American wine. I ruled out American as it cost only �3.69. I have never known a wine from California to cost less than �5 on these shores, yet some Aussie wines can be rather inexpensive.

Then I saw the little pictograph of a waterfall above the title and it announced "California."

I snatched it up. It was on a shelf more than six feet high and way in the back, severely testing my reaching abilities. But I got it. I was not about to be undone by mere height in my quest for an unusally cheap American wine.

I returned home with it, holding the bottle aloft as I walked in through the door, as if I'd been awarded a runner's trophy. It was like the Fall Sports Banquets of high school all over again.

Just before I plunged the corkscrew in, I noticed the "Produce of USA" disclaimer on the back label. I stared at it lovingly for luscious moments that seemed like hours.

And then I drank the mothafucker.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-