current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Radio Nightdragon presents ...

June 19, 2002 ~ 11:06 p.m.

I noticed that MSN has produced a bunch of lists involving songs. Glam rock classics, one-hit-wonders of the �90s, worst �80s songs, best jams to get you moving, etc. What intrigued me the most was the top ten classic rock list. As someone who enjoys classic rock � or enjoys it more often than not � I appreciated the retrospective.

This list is as follows:

1. Stairway to Heaven � Led Zeppelin

2. Satisfaction � Rolling Stones

3. Purple Haze � Jimi Hendrix

4. My Generation � The Who

5. Bohemian Rhapsody � Queen

6. Free Bird � Lynyrd Skynyrd

7. Layla � Derek and the Dominoes (Eric Clapton)

8. Money � Pink Floyd

9. You Really Got Me � The Kinks

10. Good Vibrations � The Beach Boys

Now then, it�s a good, overall list, but there are flaws. The most glaring one is this � where are the Beatles? As entertaining as the Beach Boys were, they do not belong in the top ten of classic rock. The Top 50, perhaps, but the Top Ten? No way. Shouldn�t �Hey Jude,� �Let It Be,� or �Norwegian Wood� � or any Beatles song period � belong there instead? �Eleanor Rigby,� �With A Little Help From My Friends,� �The Long and Winding Road,� �Here Comes the Sun,� the list of possibilities is endless. The Beatles deserve to be in this top ten, damnit!

�All Along the Watchtower� or �Hey Joe� would be my Hendrix choices, but that�s just me. Perhaps, statistically, �Purple Haze� is the best well known. But I�m glad to see that Jimi made it.

A lot of classic rock fans (in addition to Who fans) would nominate �Won�t Get Fooled Again� over �My Generation.� I could agree with that.

Otherwise, I believe this is a pretty good list. But any list, if it only allows for ten songs, is incomplete. So, therefore, I submit my own Top 50 Classic Rock tunes. This is not to be taken as dogma, but they do have to qualify as classic rock, i.e. pre-1990, and to be pretty universally recognized tunes. And so, without further delay, I present the top fifty tunes that I would love to hear in a row on any classic-rock radio station (note that many bands may appear more than once; it�s the tunes themselves that matter):

Nightdragon�s Top Fifty:

50. �Hocus Pocus,� Focus

49. �Carolina in My Mind,� James Taylor

48. �Already Gone,� The Eagles

47. �Fortunate Son,� Creedence Clearwater Revival

46. �These Eyes,� The Guess Who

45. �Texas Radio and the Big Bop,� The Doors

44. �Ventura Highway,� America

43. �Breakfast in America,� Supertramp

42. �I�m Not in Love,� 10cc

41. �Take the Money and Run,� Steve Miller Band

40. �Just What I Needed,� The Cars

39. �Good Times, Bad Times,� Led Zeppelin

38. �Let It Drive,� Bachman-Turner Overdrive

37. �Oh Well,� Fleetwood Mac

36. �Evil Ways,� Santana

35. �Captain Jack,� Billy Joel

34. �Make Me Smile,� Chicago

33. �I Want You (She�s So Heavy),� The Beatles

32. �Sunny Afternoon,� The Kinks

31. �White Rabbit,� Jefferson Airplane

30. �Rikki Don�t Lose That Number,� Steely Dan

29. �I Wouldn�t Want to be Like You,� Alan Parsons Project

28. �Questions 67 & 68,� Chicago

27. �Can�t Stand Losing You,� The Police

26. �You Keep Me Hanging On,� Vanilla Fudge

25. �We Gotta Get Outta This Place,� The Animals

24. �Another Brick in the Wall (Parts I and II),� Pink Floyd

23. �Don�t Take Me Alive,� Steely Dan

22. �When the World is Running Down, You Make the Best of What�s Still Around,� The Police

21. �The Weight,� The Band

20. �Sandman,� America

19. �I Shot the Sheriff,� Eric Clapton

18. �Gypsy,� Fleetwood Mac

17. �American Pie,� Don McClean

16. �Sunday Bloody Sunday,� U2

15. �St. Pepper�s/With A Little Help From My Friends,� The Beatles

14. �What I Like About You,� The Romantics

13. �Brain Drain/Eclipse,� Pink Floyd

12. �Hey Joe,� Jimi Hendrix

11. �DOA,� Bloodrock

10. �Pinball Wizard,� The Who

9. �I Love Rock and Roll,� Joan Jett

8. �Five to One,� The Doors

7. �The Stranger,� Billy Joel

6. �Smokin�,� Boston

5. �We�re an American Band,� Grand Funk Railroad

4. �Mean Mr. Mustard/Polythene Pam/She Came in Through the Bathroom Window,� The Beatles

3. �No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature,� The Guess Who

2. �Proud Mary,� Creedence Clearwater Revival

1. �What Is and What Will Ever Be,� Led Zeppelin

This is Radio Nightdragon, over and out. Hope you've enjoyed the program.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-