current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Sex(ism) sells

April 13, 2002 ~ 2:15 p.m.

The other day at Victoria Station, my wife happened upon a Nestle Yorkie candy bar that was being handed out free with copies of The London Metro and brought it home to show me. Yorkie�s logo is �It�s Not For Girls!� The letter O has the female body silhouette, so often seen to designate restrooms, with a red slash mark through it. On the back of the packaging, it is announced that the Yorkie bar is �Not Available In Pink.�

Sexist? Only if you don�t have a sense of humor. You have to laugh at anything so daringly un-PC. But this is also brilliant marketing. Men, including yours truly, enjoy the joke that Nestle is having at the expense of militant feminism. Women, meanwhile, playing upon the same feminist impulse, will mock the candy bar�s proclamations in protest. Yorkie bar sales among women will probably surpass those among men. I think we can safely agree that Nestle has hit a home run�if not a grand slam�in the advertising arena.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-