current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The mind of a morning road warrior

November 22, 2001 ~ 6:22 a.m.

On a cool and drizzly early November morning, most people sleep, or fix some hot cocoa and watch TV while hoping to fall asleep. I run.

Hey, I never claimed to be normal, now did I?

But it's true that you do get a chance to collect your thoughts. Often times, you have nothing better to do. You run down paths and streets you've seen a million times, but you stick to the route, boring as it is, because you know it and it's relatively safe. It's easy to let your mind wander off, as long as there's still enough mental capacity left to keep your legs moving and your lungs expanding.

The average six-mile run goes pretty much like this for me:

First mile: Get past it, just keep those legs moving, boy. After the first mile, you'll have a coat of sweat and loose muscles and be feeling all right. Ignore the cold, the rain, the tiredness, the aches: Just keep running!

Second mile: Not bad, loosening up. Hey, look at my shadow under this street light. Wow, you'd think I was eight feet tall! Let's run through this pile of yellow leaves. Listen to the lovely rustling, paper-like sounds it makes. Ah, good, I'm finally getting to the end of this long-ass street!

Third mile: Look at all these houses. Some have lights on, some don't. Interesting. I suppose in the ones with the lights off, the people are sleeping; and the ones with the lights on are having hot cocoa and watching TV, hoping to fall asleep. Mmm, hot cocoa!

Fourth mile: Pick those legs up higher, boy, you're slowing down! You've got two miles left, this is no time to slack off! Here comes someone, giving me a curious look. He thinks I'm nuts for being out here. He's probably thinking, "I'm only out here 'cuz I hafta go to work and this wanker is out running!" Hey, buddy, piss off and have a nice day, I care about my health! At this stage, I don't care what people think! I'm having fun. Yes, I am! Don't give me that look! Look, I'm smiling!

Fifth mile:At this stage, I'm very heavy into thought, thinking about relationships, family, friends on the 'net�anything and everything. My legs are fluid and my breathing rhythmic, but I'm just looking forward to the end, which by now, I know is near. Hmmm ... maybe, I'll share some of these thoughts on Diaryland, maybe I won't. We'll see ... A car's slowing down, and I'm on a well-lit street, so I know it's not because they can't see me well. Hey, maybe it's a babe slowing down for an extra few seconds' look at me. Hey, lady, if you're good-looking enough and you like what you see, you can tailgate me all the way home if you like!

Sixth mile: No tailgate action, but no matter, the last street is just up ahead. I do believe it's gotten warmer. I'm certainly sweating enough. I can't even feel my legs anymore, they're just a blur of perpetual motion. My metabolism is on overdrive. I'm feeling all right. Yes sirree. Oh, look, it's my apartment just up ahead. The lights are off, my wife is still sleeping. She's a day person, pity her.

That's basically it in a nutshell. Six miles in the life of an early morning road warrior. If you've ever wondered what those deranged bastards in their windbreakers and athletic tights think about as they plod along the sides of streets in the early morning hours, it's probably similar to the outline I've just provided.

Well, I'm off to drink hot cocoa, watch TV and fall asleep.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-