current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Sports talk

October 20, 2001 ~ 1:50 a.m.

During my job at the media agency, I encountered a cable service called British Eurosport. Let's just say that I needed extra coffee while fishing through this station.

British Eurosport gives you all the latest action in athletics, motor racing, tennis and "football." Football is what the Brits call soccer. I could live in this country 20 years, and that child's game will always still be soccer to me.

Now, I can't think of anything that I care about less than the latest athletics, tennis or motor racing results. I could happily go the rest of my life without knowing who won the Tour de France. Even if the winner was an American, no disrespect to him, but I'm too busy following the baseball scoreboards to notice�or care.

You see, I know people who can't stand regulation sports such as baseball or football (that is, NFL football) but love the Olympics. I'm the opposite; I could quite happily remain oblivious to the Olympics, but I'm upset if I miss the ballgame.

I suppose I'm just the typical red-blooded American male: give me all the latest non-stop baseball, basketball and American football action, and I'm a happy guy.

I have nothing against tennis or athletics. I ran track in high school and lettered in it. I also love playing tennis. I love to swim. I love playing "Gran Turismo" on my PlayStation. But because I like these activities personally doesn't mean I like to watch them. I suppose I come from a completely different sports culture. The British must consider Tour de France bicycle marathon action "jolly good."

But, as for me, a more boring cable station than British Eurosport, I could not possibly imagine.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-