current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Anti-Americanism

October 14, 2001 ~ 6:50 p.m.

Recently, I read an article in The Evening Standard, a British paper, about Americans who feel vulnerable living in London. One American mentioned the reluctance the English have in talking to or making friends with Americans. Her point, simply put, is that if you are an American living in England, expect to be ignored, and even insulted. I have noticed this myself and I agree.

Personally, I am amazed at some people who have never even set foot in the United States, yet somehow think they're in a position to criticize the country. To act this way takes a special sort of moron. But then, when it comes to anti-American sentiment, there is no other suitable description for it but moronic.

Americans are some of the most generous and charitable folks on the planet, yet we don't get recognized for it. In Britain, across Europe, across other continents, conversation regularly seems to revolve around the "Yanks" and how miserable they are.

It is often said that people resent and hate the things they fear. And, for people across the world, they fear the power of the U.S. We are the world's last remaining superpower�we have been a terrifying military presence since WWII�and the world knows what to expect when they mess with us. Just ask the Taliban.

For others, resentment, hate and fear result from envy. America is not only powerful, but rich as well. This is not to say that all Americans are rich. They are not. America is a middle-class nation. The problem is, American standards of middle class come off looking rich by other countries' standards.

I remember my first visit to England. I purchased a train ticket and only had �20 notes on me. The conductor asked me if I had anything smaller on me. I apologized and said I didn't. He rolled his eyes and made the following comment: "Oh, yes, another rich Yank. Figures you'd have nothing smaller than twenty pound notes on you!" This is the British charm I travelled 3,000 miles to experience!

Having been to France, I can say it's worse there. What the British won't say, the French will.

Even nations like Australia and Canada display anti-American behavior. Australians booed American athletes during the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, while Canadians bristle at being mistaken for Americans. The song "American Woman," an anti-American anthem of sorts, was written and performed by a Canadian band. American musician Lenny Kravitz did a remake of the song, yes, but only because he liked the groove.

In a chat room last year, a discussion of American diplomatic policies ensued, and I asked a German acquaintance what he thought.

"I have no opinion," he replied. I admire that. He recognized that the only people who have a right to criticize America are Americans themselves.

To wind this down, if you are an American, pay attention to current events. Be civic minded. Educate yourself. Support the troops. Be generous. Don't give anyone a reason to criticize you.

For those of you elsewhere, educate yourselves too. The internet is a great thing. Use it to chat to Americans. Find out how they really feel before you judge them. Don't be ignorant; don't be a moron.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-